In the early 2000's, local members of the environmental community decided to start an award to recognize Sunshine Coast residents who had demonstrated exceptional dedication and commitment to the environment and preserving wildlife.

The award was first presented in 2004 to Joop Burgerjon and Paul Jones.

In 2006 it was awarded posthumously to John Hind-Smith and renamed the John Hind-Smith Environmental Achievement Award.

Brad Benson received the award in 2008, Rick O'Neill received it in 2011, and Eagle Walz received it in 2012.