winnerThe SCCA is pleased to announce the winners of our 2011 Fundraising Raffle. The draw took place Sunday August 21st in Roberts Creek. All raffle prizes were generously donated by Sunshine Coast artists, crafts people and businesses.

1st prize Winner: Sam Fialkow, Roberts Creek
Wooden row boat (Sunshine Coast boat-builder Nicol Warn)

2nd prize Winner: Leah Thomson, North Vancouver
Sunshine Coast art package (creations from Kathi Dunlop, Katie Janyk and Mellon Glass )

3rd Prize Winner: Devon Blean
Sunshine Coast “Stay-cation” (Crystal Ranch Guesthouse & the Gumboot Restaurant)

Read more ...

tailed frogThe SCCA has been concerned about conservation of Coastal Tailed Frog populations in the Elphinstone area for many years. Read the SCCA’s research paper Elphinstone Amphibian Values.

Based on this research, the SCCA proposed a Wildlife Habitat Area for the Coastal Tailed Frog along Clack and Gough creeks (see original proposal map).

This proposal was originally submitted in 2004 and is still in limbo. Read about the history and current status of the proposal here.

Photo by Rick O'Neill

SCCA volunteers and supporters gathered on June 14 for the annual appreciation social. A number of participants gathered to have their photo taken with Rick O'Neill, recipient of the John Hind-Smith Environmental Achievement Award. Special thanks to musicians Val Anderson on vibraphones and Paul Steenhuis on guitar for their contribution to the evening.

LtoR Back: Sheena Main, George Smith, Katie Janyk, Juncoe Jan Williams, Brad Benson, Michael Maser, Michael Siddall, Rick O'Neill, Larry Musser, Bette Chadwick, David Moule, Linda Williams, Fern Walker, Gayle Neilson

Front: Alan Sirulnikoff, Jason Hertz (Chair of the SCCA Board of Directors), Janice Talbot, Marianne Larsen, Rita Petrescue

Jason&RickOn June 14, 2011, the SCCA was very pleased to present the John Hind-Smith Award to Rick O'Neill from Roberts Creek at the annual 'Friends of the SCCA' celebration evening.

Established in 2006, the John Hind-Smith Environmental Achievement Award honours a worthy local citizen who has demonstrated their dedication and commitment to the environment and preserving wildlife.

The award was last presented in 2008 to Brad Benson.

Read more ...